A New Focus Mantra

So after yesterday’s rant, several excellent comments, some quiet contemplation and some hammering on heavy hard objects, I have found a new mantra that I think will help me focus:  Lament not what you cannot have, but focus on what is achievable and obtainable.  So this new mantra sounds like some Yoda-like, fortune cookie wisdom, I think it will help me focus especially when my brain gets so choked full of negative thoughts that I cannot focus on the tasks at hand. Yoda The other thing is to think about the things I can control and not worry about the things over which I have no control.  I cannot fix the government, I cannot make a job appear out of thin air.  I can become the best scientist I am able, I can write and rewrite to hone my craft so that it becomes second nature. I can write and believe in teaching philosophies and research goals, so that when an opportunity arises I am not flying by the seat of my pants, but have a clear image of what I want and who I am, as a teacher, a scientist, and a person.  I can focus on projects to make my life and the life of those around me better.  I don’t know what they are yet, but I’ll get there.  This would be a lot cooler if it was part of Jedi training and not a way to focus my real life. It is part of what I had thought to include in my GOAL 298 manifesto.  Mantra do help me focus.  It is a way to keep the negative thoughts at bay, long enough for my mind to invest in the actual worthwhile intellectual activity.  As an aside, if someone ever asks what super power I would like to have the answer is: Jedi, or maybe Aquaman (but that is an entirely different series of thoughts). Hope everyone has a good day in which they are able to focus on making positive change and progress in their lives.  Or maybe just making it through another day. Good luck.A Jedi Knight

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A New Focus Mantra

  1. Patty says:

    On the right track, Jason. Keep the positive thoughts coming. You have a lot to offer this world we live in. 29+

    Like

Leave a Reply

